May 19, 1946

5-19-16

Im Dol 63-B, Dahlem, Berlin.
19 May 1946

Dear Family:

I’ve just finished my circular, always a bit of a task, and am now awaiting Frau Pieper’s announcement of lunch, 10 in 1 ration beef and vegetable soup. Heath left me eight or ten two quart cans of it and I might as well use it up. It really is quite good, too. That will be enough for the three of us,- Edith, Ahyaks and I. Ahyaks’ head is on my knee as I type, his large, soulful brown eyes gazing steadily into mine, and his undershot jaw drooling just a bit on my uniform trousers. I find that keeping a uniform immaculate when you have an affectionate dog which sheds hair is a bit of a chore – but I wouldn’t have it otherwise. Another trick of his is to lay his front legs over mine, flatten his underjaw against my chest and gaze unwinkingly into my face. He’s quite a pup – I wish, as much as I would miss him, that you could have him, to grow up along with the youngsters. Perhaps, if I still have him, and if you would like him, I’ll bring him home with me when I journey back to the States next winter, for my R R & R (rest, relaxation and recovery, as the Army puts it.) —- Ahyaks is looking wistfully out of the window in front of me. He has an unbelievably ugly profile, but so full of expression, and you love it.

Your first letter from the new home reached me this week, and, a few days later, the package of treasures. You have a knack, sweet, of including those things which I want the most. I’m particularly glad to get the prescription and I can start a too-long-delayed treatment with it. The caviar, the liederkranz cheese, the sardines, the kipper snacks, and the other delicacies will do much to offset the monotony of my fare. And, by the way, most of the similar little food specialties which you sent in the first box helped largely to take care of Heath’s going away party, served as hors d’ouevers on squares of toast to provide some solid nourishment between drinks. Which reminds me of my legacy. When my V.I.P. left, he turned over to me the following cellar:

2 fifths Courvoisier Cognac
1    “     Remy Martin
13  “     Booth’s Yellow Gin
2    “     Gordon’s Gin
1    “     Seagram’s V.O. Whiskey
1    “     Philadelphia           “
5    “     Canadian Club       “
4    “     D.O.M. Benedictine
1    “     Veuve Cliquot Champagne

and opened bottles of Benedictine, Cointreau, Grand Marnier, Remy Martin, Camus cognac, and Three Feathers Whiskey. A not inconsiderable cellar. Champagne is at the most plentiful of all drinks here, but we had used practically all of his and my supply at his party. The Commisary is beginning to stock items never before obtainable here, – Spry, maple flavoring (for corn syrup), cocktail cherries, and many other items. So we are doing pretty well in the food line – but still caviar, anchovies, cheese (other than run-o’-mine processed cheese in ten pound cans), and other such items are delicacies which are always hailed with joy and treasured for the special occasions. So, thanks a million, a box like that is quite sufficient to cause everyone to stop work for a moment and crowd around to see what the other feller is getting and to rejoice with him.

I realize that I put quite a tax on Rog’s ingenuity in asking for clothing to fit a Behemoth, but anything you can do, boy, is greatly appreciated. If I can’t get what I want I suppose I’ll have to take what I can get. Edith Vadney, George’s wife, is coming over shortly from Washington and I’m asking her to bring over my steamer trunk with plenty of civilian clothing in it, so possibly I’ll be amply cared for by the first week in July – or sooner. At the moment there is just one thing I want from the States, other than my family, and that is about a dozen cartons of my favorite Dunhill cigarettes. Oh, yes, one more thing. A bottle of Angostura Bitters. With that I can make Old Fashioneds for myself and my guests – a wonderful treat over here.

Lunch is over. The ration stew was really quite delicious and it was topped off by coffee and some very tasty sugar and orange marmalade cookies which Edith threw together. She is an excellent cook, but she told me this noon that she learned it the hard way, for she was brought up in some luxury, with three maids running an 18 room house and all she did was dance and play.

Please don’t worry about writing me regularly, it is much more important that you get some rest and relaxation – R R & R, so to speak – for I can well imagine that your day is long and strenuous. I’m sorry that my Easter check was late, but probably it was put to better use as it was than as was intended. I’d like to see your “cool lime dress”. I’m glad that the $250 finally came through from the bank. They have not been reporting to me as to the checks received and disbursed so I know little about how my affairs are being managed. But I’ve heard no howl from Miami, so I guess those checks are going through with reasonable regularity. Thanks for letters #1 and #2. Now the succession is complete. And the color picture taken last October in Hollywood is lovely. It has gone into my wallet, to be pulled out with the ones of early April to show all of my friends. —- Too bad that Patsy Buchanan lost her husband – I hadn’t heard of it – but I’m glad that she got another and hope he’s satisfactory.

I’m sleepy – think I’ll lie down and try to sleep, tho I doubt my ability to do so. ‘Bye now, take good care of yourselves. Lots of love.

Affectionately,

Dad-

 

