April 28, 1946

Im Dol 63-B, Berlin, Germany.
28 April 1946.

Dear Family:

I have no idea whether this week has brought any mail from you, for I have been away from the office since Wednesday afternoon and came here directly from the train this morning. I hope to find a windfall when I reach the Compound to-morrow morning. This is just a Carrier Sheet for my Circular #6. These are getting shorter and shorter I’m afraid but I try to get one little picture in each one which may prove interesting to the folks back home. The trip to Frankfurt was pleasant in many ways but tiring and quite frustrating in others. It isn’t the Army I have trouble crossing swords with but just certain people in the Army. There is one in Frankfurt, head of G-1, Civilian Personnel, whom we all find particularly trying, and unfortunately much of our policy and procedure has to clear through him – such are channels in the Army. I spent a day in Wiesbaden most successfully and pleasantly, the other two were in Frankfurt, one whole day in a formal conference and the other in free lance meetings. I spent a most delightful hour discussing Employee Relations and Housing for Dependents with Lt. Col. Halloran, WAC, formerly head of all the WACs in the ET and now head of USFET G-1 Employee Relations. She is one of the most charming ladies I have ever encountered, petite and lovely to look at and smart as they come. Friday evening I attended a formal cocktail party and then, after dinner, several of us wiled away the rest of the evening at the Rendevous, Special Services night club for officers and civilians.

My new RCA radio has been fitted with a transformer so that it can be used with the 220 current we have here, and it is now tuned into AFN (American Forces Network) which gives us pretty good programs, frequently transcribed from Statesside programs. Right now we are tuned in on Bremerhofen docks. The Philip S. Barry, bringing the first consignment of American wives from the States is warping into the dock and the announcer is interviewing a number of the waiting husbands. Last night, on the train from Frankfurt, there were three English wives and three small children, all flown from England. Two of the officers are friends of mine. They seemed most happy, but the new note of parental authority in the daddy’s voice and his sheepishness as he performed certain intimate operations for Junior were most amusing. So ends the old Berlin in the American colony, I am afraid, but it will probably work out all right. God help the poor wife who can’t take it, – she will have a miserable time in Berlin.

Not much to tell this week which has not already been said in my circular and above. Work continues at high pitch, Spring is Spring and the old crock continues to function on about ten of his twelve cylinders. You are probably pretty well shaken down in your new quarters by now and able to take a few long breaths. A letter from Aunt Elsie tells of seeing you a couple of times and says some most complementary things about both of my grandsons. I hope the strain of moving hasn’t taken too much out of you, Sweet. Now is when I wish you had a car at your disposal.

Now for the rest of the covering letters, so I must hasten on. Love to you all.

Affectionately,

Dad –

