April 8, 1946

8 April 1946

Dear Kids:

This is a carrier sheet for my Circular # 5, an inconsequential document, but something to keep the pipeline from Berlin to the States open. And, by the way, I’ll have to send you a carrier sheet sometime – the accepted means of conducting intra-mural communication in OMGUS. This has been an amusing evening – as which evening in Berlin isn’t? We gathered at the Personnel Office table on the edge of the dance floor at Harnack Haus this evening after work, drank a few cognacs, danced a few dances and relaxed after what proved to be a pretty tough day. And I had a swell waltz with Mary Lee Hopkins, – Mary Lee, my sweet, who graduated from Shenandoah Junior High a couple of years before you did – and we discussed Miss McVicar and Miss Verscure together and had a real old home week. Mary Lee is a sweet kid, works in Staff Cable Control and billets with Jean Kerlin, (also Miami) one of our Personnel Office gals, Status Unit. At dinner Mary Lee talked about George, her dog, a Spitz which she recently acquired and which completely rules the billet. And, at her behest, we all saved our butter and our carrots for George, and Mary Lee wrapped them carefully in several copies of the Stars and Stripes, Germany Edition, and when we went up to the movies I carefully placed George’s butter and carrots between the two windows so they would stay cool. And after the movies Jean, Mary Lee and I took the butter and carrots home to George, for what an anti-climax. George was a toy Spitz, and only four months old at that, fully ten inches long and a delightful ball of fur. But, from the way that Mary Lee and Jean talked about him, you would have thought that George was nothing less in physique and dignity than a full grown German Shepherd or a Boxer.

Well, just another Berlin evening, and, in the aggregate, they keep life flowing by most agreeably. When I got home I returned a call which Jen had made earlier in the evening and which Harold reported, and signed myself up for my first private German class to-morrow evening. Jen and I are starting to take them weekly, at her apartment, and at the exhorbitant cost of 5 marks a week apiece, for an hour’s private instruction. I sincerely hope I get something out if it besides diversion. I find that I just won’t study alone and without instruction, and I won’t attend a class of beginners at the American University of Berlin, run by the Special Services Section. Soooo- we’ll see what we can get out of this.

Still no word from you folks, and I’m hoping that everything is running smoothly with you. Of course, it is always human nature to imagine that something frightful has happened when the customary weekly isn’t forthcoming, but I’m keeping myself in a calm, receptive mood and awaiting receipt of your next epistle. It should be almost time for me to start addressing my letters to the Clifton address, but as I have no confirmation of the change and no address to write to I’ll continue to shoot my communications through to 17 Norwood Street. I hope the move goes through smoothly, with no frayed nerves and nothing broken, scratched or lost. And I also hope that you connect up with your Lares and Penates in Miss Hart’s warehouse without trouble and without too much terminal bill. If you want any help let me know, for, after all, I wished a lot of the stuff on you.

And now to bed, for to-day has been a she dog of a day and it’s just the beginning of the week. Lots of love and the best of everything to you all.

Affectionately,

(signed) Dad –

And I should have said above, and didn’t, the waltz was a medley of old home tunes,- Missouri waltz, Always, Let Me Call You Sweetheart, etc. This amazing Berlin.

